September 14, 2008

  • Random Things

    The kids and I are just finishing up breakfast. Dan's been sleeping a lot since he's been home-- about 12 hours at night, and he takes a nap in the afternoon as well! His body must be working overtime on healing itself. Dan's sister Miriam left early this morning after spending the last 4 days with us, mostly badgering Dan into doing all the stuff he needs to be doing, and making soup for him. (She also happens to be an ER nurse!) She made two soups that were amazing-- a shrimp bisque, and a black bean chowder. (The rest of us ate the soup that wasn't pureed. :) ) She and I got to get our for a bit together yesterday, which was so nice. It's so nice to have family that really is family!

    Will is playing soccer twice a week. At his age, they play without goalies or refs. It's super cute to see them play. They are so into it. :)

    Hallie wants to take a dance class, so I've been looking into that a bit. Right now I am trying to keep things moving on the new house front... I have paint chips picked out, the tub for our bathroom, the cork floor for the playroom... :-b A few of you have asked about our appliances, so here you go. We placed our big order at Sears during their "VIP event" a few weeks ago, and got 30% off the already-on-sale prices. I was very happy about that! The microwave, washer & dryer and dishwasher were Consumer Reports "best buys", so that is why I picked them. The fridge and oven were rated highly by them as well. I just can't waiiiit to have all this stuff up and running and in our new place. *shudder* Things just seem to take forever!!
    Our fridge
    The microwave
    Washer and Dryer
    And... my oven. I wanted to put put in a real pic of it because I am the most excited about this appliance. :) Actually having a big oven that has lots of burners and can take the big, wide restaurant-sized baking sheets is so up my alley. :)
    http://s7.sears.com/is/image/Sears/02279623000?qlt=90,0&resMode=sharp&op_usm=0.9,0.5,0,0
    And... I guess that's it for now. Dan's other sister, Kak, is arriving on Thursday for a few days. (She's also an ER nurse! How handy, right?! ) Plus, his mom has been here since right after the accident, with his Dad popping in and out as well. I feel very blessed to have family who is so willing to help out when we need it!

Comments (3)

  • Glad to hear Dan's body is healing and that you have help.  Is everyone a nurse in the family? :)

    I love, LOVE the stove.  That looks like my dream stove!  What brand is it?  My husband used to sell appliances so I'm always curious what kind people are purchasing.

  • @my_pilgrimage - 

    The stove is a Kenmore. We got the best deal we could find through Sears, so we went with pretty much all Kenmore stuff. And there are only two nurses in the family-- they just happen to both be ER nurses! :)

  • I am glad things are getting better. The stove looks amazing. I pray a speedy healing to your husband .

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment