October 18, 2008

  • fun things

    So yesterday while I was at my dad's, a bear came up to our back door! You have to know that the house we are living in is almost all glass. (Literally, the first floor, from floor to ceiling, is pretty much all glass.) So having the bear show up was amazing, in more ways than one. My friend who was with the kids said that Will got up, ran to the wall of windows, and stared the bear down. (He told Dan later, "I could see his sharp teeth.") Hallie covered her eyes with her hands and wouldn't look. Eventually the bear wandered off. When I came home, Will eagerly told me all about the episode. When Hallie got up from her nap, she popped her thumb out and stated in a bored tone, "Millie came." then popped her thumb back in. At first I was nonplussed, but then I remembered: Millie is the bear in the stories Dan tells the kids. LOL!! I couldn't believe that's all she could come up with.

    Yesterday was Dan's birthday. We went out for dinner with some friends and then to (great seats!) at a hockey game. I know literally nothing about hockey, but while the guys cheered and talked, I knitted and my friend and I talked. It was a good time!! Today we are all off to a local apple festival. Should be yummy and fun!! I love fall! :)

Comments (1)

  • Greetings dear friend!

    If you wish for the circumstances in your life to change, you simply need to
    change your relationship with the Lord - who - wants - me - to remind you
    to make time to pray for yourself and your loved ones.

    Why?

    Because James 5:16 reveals that intercessory prayer for other s brings healing (physical, mental, spiritual, circumstantial,etc.) for ourselves.

    So, I've included some simple but scriptural prayers.

    And, Perhaps you would be so kind as to join me in prayer for our country?

    Our heavenly Father desires that we PRAY for the people and leaders of our nation
    in agreement with prayers that the Holy Spirit put in the scriptures.

    Why those prayers?

    Because we can all agree that our Heavenly Father wants us to
    pray that specific content or He would not have put them in the Bible;
    which also says that:

    (A) "the effective, fervent prayer of a person
    who is the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus
    makes tremendous power available" (James 5:16) and

    (B) when two believers agree together in the name of Jesus,
    the p rayer becomes 10 times more powerful ("one puts a thousand
    to flight and two, 10,000") !!

    The most important job in the Kingdom of God is that of intercession
    as that is what Jesus has been doing for the last almost 2000 yrs.

    Isn't it a wonderful thing to know that you and I can join Him in His endeavor
    by spending some of our time doing the same?

    Here are some scriptural prayers to get us started:

    Petitions:

    Heavenly Father I ask You, in the name of Jesus Christ,
    to let the lives of [individual's NAME or GROUP (ex."all kings and people in authority")]
    and his/her/their family members
    lovingly express TRUTH,
    that is, in all things,
    speaking truly, dealing truly, and living truly.

    Heavenly Father I ask You, in the name of Jesus Christ,
    to enfold in LOVE [individual's NAME or GROUP (ex. same as above or maybe:
    "all eligible American voters"]
    and his/her/their family members
    and so enfolded,
    let them grow up in every way and in all things
    into Him who is the Head,
    Christ Jesus (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

    Confession of Receipt:

    Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus Christ, I believed
    that I received what I just asked You for
    when I asked you for it [see: MARK 11:23-24).

    Thanksgiving:

    I thank You heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus Christ,
    that You are letting the lives of [repeat above petitioned for individual's NAME or GROUP]
    and his/her/their family members
    lovingly express TRUTH,
    so that in all things they speak truly,
    deal truly and live truly.

    I thank You heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus Christ,
    that You are enfolding [repeat above petitioned for individual's NAME or GROUP]
    and his/her/their family members in LOVE.

    I thank You heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus Christ,
    that You are letting [repeat above petitioned for individual's NAME or GROUP]
    and his/her/their family members,
    who are enfolded in LOVE,
    grow up in every way and in all things
    into Him who is the Head,
    Christ Jesus the Messiah, the anointed One.

    Best regards,
    Pastor Doug

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment