Month: January 2009

  • Bible in a Year

    I have wanted to read through the bible in a year for several years but I’ve never actually done it. Recently I found this and it has been so amazing! Every morning the reading for the day is in my feedreader, and there is also an audio link! At first I was just reading it, but I’ve found that listening while I read helps me to slow my reading down a bit (I’m a notorious speed reader) so I am actually retaining more. At first I was a little annoyed that my life is apparently so tech-y that the only way I can consistently get my Bible readings in is to do it on the computer… but… at this point in life, I’m going to take whatever works! And this is working for me.

    In other news, Tristan’s latest word is “hallelujah”. Just a minute ago I was scolding him for taking his socks off again (he’s recently discovered toe fuzz and takes his socks off several times a day to check for it) and he replied to my “Tristan! Your toes are so cold– you need to keep your socks on!” with “Oh! Hallelujah!” I almost burst out laughing. He sounds so holy! It is a pretty hilarious response, you must admit. :)

  • So I have finally…

    gone to the library here! For the first time since high school. Yep, pathetic, I know, but parking’s terrible, and it’s just… not… worth it. Dan stayed with Will and Hallie at their gymnastics class at the Y and I walked to the library with Tristan. I got three books, two from my recently complied 2009 reading list and one to read aloud to Will. We already read the first chapter tonight– he loved it. :) Tristan spotted the train table at the library and begged, “choo choo! peas, choo choo!” So next week I’ll try to let him play for a bit. After all the other two are having a blast at gymnastics, so it’s only fair, right? Besides, he’s way too cute and asks way too sincerely for me to turn him down two weeks in a row. :)

    PS: I have my reading list up on Facebook, if you’re interested in checking it out. I am also actively recruiting suggestions for more books. Ideas welcome!!!

  • Seven Things

    • The Rules:
    • Link to the person who tagged you. My lovely friend April from St. Louis tagged me.
    • Share 7 random/weird facts about you.
    • Tag 7 people at the end of the post, and include links to their blogs.
    • 1. I love playing games. Any kind, anywhere– count me in!
    • 2. I use a cleaning schedule and I love it. No feeling overwhelmed or so far behind! Yay.
    • 3. I love things that are clean, neat, orderly and easily accessible. I can’t wait till we move and I can get our house like that.
    • 4. I am a fan of Apple products. I have an iPhone, an iPod and a MacBook Pro. I’m kind of a tech-geek girl. :)
    • 5. I am a grammar/spelling nut. If you can’t use English correctly… it bugs me.
    • 6. I read lots of books. And anything else I can get my hands on.
    • 7. I’m kind of over blogging. The whole “sharing my life with the world” thing has lost its appeal somehow. Hmm.

    Anyway, I tag Kristin, Dan, Corey, Kerry, Emily, Abby, and Melissa! Have fun! :)